Former Nevada women's basketball standout Teige Zeller, is among a record-setting 581 nominated student-athletes for this year's NCAA Woman of the Year award.
The award, which is now in its 28th year of existence, features the largest pool of nominees in its history. It honors graduating female college athletes who have exhausted their eligibility and distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in academics, athletics, service and leadership. Of the nominees, 251 competed in Division I, 131 competed in Division II and 199 competed in Division III athletics.
Zeller posted an incredible senior season for the Wolf Pack, culminating in her first All-Mountain West selection. She ranked 11th in the conference at 14.2 points per game, was third in rebounding at 8.6 rebounds per contest and was third in field goal percentage shooting 51.4 percent. Zeller produced a career-high 12 double-doubles, six 20-point games and scored in double figures in 31 of the team’s 36 games. She concluded her Wolf Pack career as just the sixth player in program history to accumulate over 900 points and 700 rebounds.
Zeller is a three-time Mountain West All-Academic team and MW Scholar Athlete honoree. Earlier this year she received a CoSIDA Academic All-District VIII second team selection. Additionally she is very active in the community, volunteering her time at her local church and with the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. She graduated Cum Laude in May with a bachelor’s degree in journalism.
Conferences will assess each nominee's eligibility and select up to two conference nominees. All conference nominees are forwarded to the Woman of the Year selection committee, which chooses the top-30 honorees -- 10 from each division. 
From those 30 candidates, the selection committee then determines the three finalists in each division for a total of nine finalists. The Committee on Women's Athletics will select the 2018 NCAA Woman of the Year from the nine finalists. The 2018 NCAA Woman of the Year will be announced Sunday, Oct. 28, at an awards dinner in Indianapolis, Indiana.

(University of Nevada)