Democrats Doug Jones, Tina Smith Sworn in as Senators - KTVN Channel 2 - Reno Tahoe Sparks News, Weather, Video

Democrats Doug Jones, Tina Smith Sworn in as Senators

Posted: Updated:

Vice President Mike Pence has sworn into office the two newest members of the Senate, Democrats Doug Jones of Alabama and Tina Smith of Minnesota.

Jones is the first Alabama Democrat elected to the Senate in a quarter-century. His victory over Roy Moore in the deeply conservative state has narrowed the Republican majority in the Senate to 51-49.

Jones is filling a vacancy that arose from the resignation of Jeff Sessions to serve as the nation's attorney general.

Smith is the former lieutenant governor of Minnesota, appointed by the state's governor to replace Democratic Sen. Al Franken.

Ahead of the swearing-in, Jones told reporters on Capitol Hill that he's hoping to be a "good senator" something he considers to be a "bipartisan issue."  

Franken announced his resignation in December amid mounting pressure to step down in light of growing allegations of sexual misconduct against women before and after he joined the Senate. Smith was selected by Governor Mark Dayton to fill the vacant spot. 

The former Minnesota lieutenant governor has said she will also run in the November 2018 special election to finish Franken's term, which was due to expire in 2020.

Former Vice President Walter Mondale, a Minnesotan, escorted Smith, and former Vice President Joe Biden, a longtime friend of Jones, accompanied him.

Jones told reporters on Wednesday that he "loves" that Biden was joining him for the ceremony. 

"The fact that he's been here for a long time. He's been here many years himself so it's going to be a special day," said Jones. 

(The Associated Press, CBS News contributed to this report.)

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 Sarkes Tarzian, Inc. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.