The University of Nevada swimming and diving team closed a highly successful season Saturday, competing in the final day of the 2015 NCAA Championships at the Greensboro Aquatics Center. Junior Yawen Li, junior Krysta Palmer and sophomore Teresa Baerens represented the Wolf Pack at NCAAs to cap a banner season.

In Saturday's final day of competition at NCAAs, Li placed 17th in the 200-yard breaststroke, Palmer placed 24th in the platform dive and Baerens placed 60th in the 100-yard freestyle.

Nevada sent three student-athletes to the NCAA Championship for the first time since 2008 and accumulated 16 total points. All three of those athletes return eligibility for next season. Li and Palmer earned honorable mention All-America accolades in the process to lengthen the Pack's list of accomplishments in the 2014-15 season.

Li – the Mountain West Swimmer of the Year – touched the wall in 2:09.07 to place 17th in the 200 breaststroke preliminaries today. The Wuhan, China, native's time was the second fastest in program history and was less than two-tenths from qualifying to the B finals. The two-time All-MW selection placed ninth in the 400-yard IM, 17th in the 200-yard breaststroke and 32nd in the 200-yard IM at NCAAs.

Palmer earned 242.90 points and placed 24th in the platform dive. The Carson City native placed 10th in the three-meter springboard on Friday to earn honorable mention All-America honors. This season, Palmer swept the MW Championships en route to being named conference diver of the year.

Baerens, a two-time all-conference honoree, capped her first collegiate NCAA Championship experience in the 100-yard freestyle. The Ottobrun, Germany, native touched the wall in 50.73 - her second fastest time of the season - and placed 60th. Baerens placed 26th in the 200-yard freestyle, 60th in the 100-yard freestyle and 64th in the 200-yard IM at NCAAs.

The Wolf Pack proved itself as a team on the rise this season, placing third at the MW Championship, earning three Governor's Series points, naming 10 athletes to the all-conference team and breaking 13 program records. The Wolf Pack posted an 8-2 dual record before matching the program's highest-ever finish in the MW and sending three student-athletes to NCAAs.

In the process, head coach Abby Steketee was named MW Coach of the Year, diving coach Jian Li You earned her third consecutive MW Diving Coach of the Year honor, Li was named Nevada's first conference swimmer of the year since 2009 and Palmer became the fourth consecutive Pack diver to be named conference diver of the year.

Nevada will graduate five student-athletes this season – Lauren Allen, Jocelin Drennan, Michelle Forman, Kaelie Reviglio and Luiza Vieira – while returning 13 letter winners. 

Nevada Press Release