2012 Nevada Football Team Awards - KTVN Channel 2 - Reno Tahoe Sparks News, Weather, Video

Rosette, Jefferson and Williams Highlight 2012 Nevada Football Team Awards

Posted: Updated:

RENO, Nev. — Senior linebacker Albert Rosette was the recipient of the Golden Helmet Award at the 2012 Nevada Football Awards Banquet held Sunday morning in Reno.

Junior running back Stefphon Jefferson was named the Outstanding Offensive Player while senior safety Duke Williams was named the Outstanding Defensive Player. Senior punt returner/cornerback Khalid Wooten was named the Outstanding Special Teams Player.

The Nevadatude Award, given to the best representatives of the program's beliefs and ideals, was taken home by sixth-year senior tight end Zach Sudfeld.

The awards were based on voting from the players. Coaches only vote if needed to break a tie and head coach Chris Ault said that was not the case this year.

"I was pleased with the job the players did on these awards and I'm proud of these guys," Ault said.

Nevada (7-5 overall, 4-4 MW) is preparing for its eighth consecutive bowl appearance as it will take on Arizona in the Gildan New Mexico Bowl on Saturday.

The following is a full list of the awards handed out today at brunch, which is sponsored by the Nevada Football Alumni organization:

Golden Helmet Award (MVP)

                Albert Rosette, senior linebacker

Outstanding Offensive Player

                Stefphon Jefferson, junior running back

Outstanding Defensive Player

                Duke Williams, senior safety

Outstanding Special Teams Player

                Khalid Wooten, senior punt returner

Nevadatude Award (best representative of the beliefs and ideals of the program)

                Zach Sudfeld, senior tight end

Basalite Big Blocker (given the offensive lineman who grades out the best in victories)

                Matt Galas – UNLV

                Joel Bitonio – Northwestern State, Hawaii, Wyoming

                Jeff Nady – Cal, Texas State, New Mexico

Blackout Award (big hitter)

                Duke Williams, senior safety

Fireman's Award (stepping up in a time of need)

                Devin Combs, sophomore quarterback

Full-speed, Effort and Habit Awards (scout team players of the year)

        Offense: Chris Solomon, freshman running back

        Defense: Gabe Lee, sophomore defensive back

University of Nevada Athletics Media Release
Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 Sarkes Tarzian, Inc. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.