Ahearn, Emmett Named to N.B.A.D.L. All-Star Team - KTVN Channel 2 - Reno Tahoe Sparks News, Weather, Video

Ahearn, Emmett Named to N.B.A.D.L. All-Star Team

Posted: Updated:
Reno Bighorns

RENO, NEV.— The Reno Bighorns' Blake Ahearn and Andre Emmett were selected to play in the sixth annual NBA D-League All-Star Game Presented by 26 Seconds on Saturday, February 25 in Orlando, Florida at the NBA All Star Jam Session, it was announced today. The game will air live on NBA TV at 5 p.m. PT.

Ahearn has been the talk of the league this season, with his league leading 24.1 points per game and his D-League record streak of 110 consecutive free throws made. He is ranked seventh in the league with 5.6 assists per game and is leading the league with an astounding 96.1 shooting percentage from the free throw line. His historic free throw streak surpassed the NBA record of 97 consecutive free throws set by Michael Williams of the Minnesota Timberwolves in 1993.

Emmett has been an offensive force for the Bighorns, scoring 23.6 points per game, which ranks second in the D-League. He is ranked sixth in the league with 1.8 steals per game and is shooting 45.9 percent on three pointers, which ranks eighth in the league. Emmett had 35 points, eight rebounds and six assists in the Bighorns win over the Bakersfield Jam Monday night, including the game-winning shot with 3.8 seconds remaining in the game.

Last season, eight of the 20 NBA D-League All-Stars who played in Los Angeles went on to earn GATORADE Call-Ups to the NBA later in the year.  At the end of last season, almost one-in-four NBA players had NBA D-League experience.  Over the NBA D-League All-Star Game's five-year history, 59 of the 100 players have had, or subsequently earned, NBA experience.  

Joining Bighorns on the West team will be Justin Dentmon and Lance Thomas (Austin Toros), currently a member of the New Orleans Hornets; Brandon Costner, Gerald Green, and Elijah Millsap (Los Angeles D-Fenders); Greg Smith (Rio Grande Valley Vipers); and Jerome Dyson and Marcus Lewis (Tulsa 66ers).  

The East team will feature Tyrell Biggs (Canton Charge); Edwin Ubiles (Dakota Wizards); Keith McLeod (Erie BayHawks); Darnell Lazare and Walker Russell, Jr. (Fort Wayne Mad Ants), currently a member of the Detroit Pistons; Marqus Blakely (Iowa Energy); Charles Garcia (Sioux Falls Skyforce); and JamesOn Curry, Jeff Foote, and Jerry Smith (Springfield Armor).

A combination of voting by the league's 16 head coaches and fan balloting on nba.com/dleague was used to select the 20 NBA D-League All-Stars, 10 from each conference. Players who have been selected must be on an active NBA D-League roster to compete in the NBA D-League All-Star Game.

Fans can see the Bighorns All-Stars Ahearn and Emmett when the team takes on the Los Angeles D-Fenders at the Reno Events Center on February 10 and 11 at 7 p.m.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 Sarkes Tarzian, Inc. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.